Flashback Friday: The Island of the Blue Dolphins

What is a “Flashback Friday?”  On some Fridays, Miranda will provide her opinion of a book I used to like as a child that I am “encouraging” her to read….  Not surprisingly, she hasn’t learned to trust my taste yet, but we’ll see if that changes someday!  I enjoyed The Island of the Blue Dolphins as a child because I was intrigued by the thought of kids having to survive alone in the wild.  Given Miranda’s independent nature (she was previously convinced she should start a solo expedition to the north pole…..), I thought she would benefit from this realistic portrait of a child in the wilderness. AND, this book is a Newbery Medal winner, which is usually a good enough reason to force (I mean encourage) Miranda to read it.  In case you haven’t figured this out yet, the blue bold font introduction means I (Todd) wrote it, and the bold green font introduction means Miranda wrote it, so here is the review in Miranda’s words only:

Title:  The Island of the Blue Dolphins
Author:  Scott O’Dell
184 pages

My reaction when my dad told me to read this: “Blech.” This was because I almost never like to read what my dad suggests I read. Each time, he says I will like it. Each time, I said I wouldn’t. And each time… I was wrong.

Synopsis: Karana is left behind when all of her people leave the island of the blue dolphins. She has to fight her enemies (the wild dogs), make weapons, and hunt food. All by herself. For years, she waits for a boat to land on the island, reuniting her with her family and friends. Will they ever come back for the girl they left to fend for herself?

Miranda’s favorite character: Rontu because he is funny and he was almost always wanting to be by Karana’s side.

Miranda’s favorite part of book: My favorite part is when she talks with her friend, even though they don’t know each other’s  languages. It is a very heart-warming moment, and it shares a message: It’s always good to make new friends.

Miranda’s rating: 7. This book has some sad parts that make you want to cry yourself.

Miranda’s recommended ages: 9+ because it has a few scary parts, and has some words that younger children might not know.

Why kids would like this book: it is sweet and is not historical fiction. It’s just historical. I was reading it one night and stayed up reading WAY past my bedtime! (I was super sleepy the following morning!)

6 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: The Island of the Blue Dolphins

  1. I just caught up with your blog posts and am loving the whole experience! Thanks for giving me a strong feeling of nostalgia while thinking about this potent classic. I might have to pick up a copy and reread it after all of these years!

    I love this project and I love how frequently you two are updating! Great work!

    I also love the design of your site and how great it looks on my phone while I’m riding the bus to work. Your family does everything so classy. 🙂

  2. I had my mom read this book to me over and over and over. It is my absolut favorit for all times! 🙂 Just took a look into the english version at amazon. They have changed the kids names from swedish to english though. Sounds weird. 🙂 One of our sons is named after one boy in the book. His name is Lasse. In the english book his name is Karl. Not even close, if you ask me! 🙂
    Have you ever read it? If not – you should! Best wishes! – Steffi
    http://www.amazon.com/Children-Noisy-Village-Astrid-Lindgren/dp/014032609X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337973551&sr=1-1

Leave a Reply

