Thoughts on Thursday: Welcome back!

So… me and my parents have been in California forEVER! I’ve really missed writing for the blog, but between playing with my crazy awesome (stooky, for all the Murky fans out there) cousins and finishing up homeschool, I just haven’t had much time for dad and I to post new things on our blog! Anyway, I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciate all of our blog followers. I brought up the fact that we need to update our poll, so keep an eye on that! Sorry we haven’t changed it. At all. In fact, why don’t you comment on it and give us good poll ideas? I’ll have to convince my dad to do his OWN “Welcome Back” post, so then you can hear HIS thoughts, too! In California, I found… guess what. A LIBRARY! In the library, I found lots of great books, such as Charlie Bone and the Beast , Frozen in Time(which I didn’t finish), and 101 Ways to Bug Your Teacher, just to name a few. They are ALL great books! Now… I know I am COMPLETLEY changing the subject, but my dad asked me to do a post on buying books vs. library books. Well, why don’t I get started on that! Library books are great. I mean, sure they aren’t in the BEST shape, but going to the library is always such a great way to find books that you’ve never heard of, that might not even be in the store! Sadly, borrowing a book just isn’t as fun as owning one, because then you can’t read it over and over and over again! Also, if a page is torn out, YOUR’E DOOMED. (Especially if the page torn out is the end of the book!!!) Now, about buying books. Buying books is good because then you can find newer titles, and you can read those books over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over (and over) again! BUT sometimes the newer titles can be completely sold out, or they might not sell it at all. And sometimes the books can cost a bucket full of money, and that is always a let-down. Although library books and books at the store both have their pros and cons, I love them both the same! And before I end this post, I would like to have a moment of silence for Borders, the awesome bookstore going out of business. ……………………………….. And now I would like to have a moment of silence for all those librarians out there who would just LOVE a moment of silence. ……………………………………………………………. Thank you! Well, me and my dad would love to hear from you guys! Bye!

One thought on “Thoughts on Thursday: Welcome back!

  1. Hi Miranda ~ welcome back! I’m glad you had a great visit in California but I missed your posts. I don’t know any of the books or the authors that you love……guess I must be getting old. My little grandboys are just beginning to read so maybe I’ll get some ideas from you on books I can suggest for them. Tell your Mom how much I miss her (and you and your Dad, too!). So you must be homeschooled this year, right? I totally have lost track of what grade you are in ~ 4th or 5th? Have wonderful evening. Love, Susan Young

Leave a Reply

